Stop! False Start.

Published May 23, 2012 by Rutendo Linah Paz

Hello all. As the title suggests I’ve had a false start in the running department, bhoo hoo! Just when I was beginning to like it. What happened was that a simple mis-step resulted in a sprianed ankle. Ouch! I actually thought it was broken when it happened. However X-ray showed no fractures thank God. It would have been better had it not been for my heels. (Just when i was beginning to like wearing them). So as a result I was off my feet for a while and I obviously had to hang up my running shoes.

After a week the limp and bandage was gone but the tenderness and swelling were still there. At the end of the second week I was feeling confident and attempted a morning run with my significant other just incase something went wrong. My ankle started throbbing halfway through the run and was outrightly complaining by the time I finished. Lesson learnt; not yet ready to run. I consulted a physiotherapist a few days later cause I was concerned that there was something wrong cause most people told me a sprained ankle heels in a week. However the physiotherapist told me nothing was wrong and that I should stay in my flat shoes and give it some rest.

By the end of the third week since the accident I was eager to start running again but life happened. Was travelling and not keeping to a proper schedule, I had other commitments and blah blah blah. The list can go on but the bottom line is the same…The excuses aren’t good enough. I’m still failing to make time to run even though i’m not busy anymore and the shorter days and colder mornings don’t help. Sigh.

So what have I learnt from all this:
1. Don’t walk down slopes or slight inclines with heels. Especially heels with and ankle strap.
2. Don’t always listen to what people say especially when your body is saying something else.
3. Not running has shown me how much running is now a part of my life.
4. I need help. As much as this is a personal goal, I’ve realised that I need help. Especially with rehabilitation for my ankle and improving my supper slow running pace. Last but not least;
5. Although I didnt manage to complete the running program on time, running is now in my system and I can call myself a runner.

I may be down but i’m not out. Watch this space.

Leave a comment